Monday, December 15, 2014

#MondayBlogs The 131 Preview Review Interviews Isaiyan Morrison Author of The Deamhan Chronicles @isaiyanmorrison & @shannonihayes


Isaiyan Morrison was born and raised in Minnesota. She moved to San Diego, California while in the Navy. After serving four years of active duty, she moved to Los Angeles.

Besides writing, she also likes to read, surf the internet, watch movies, and play video games. She likes warm drinks, pico de gallo, and her love for cilantro is legendary.

Her vampire novel Deamhan, the first book in the Deamhan Chronicles, was accepted for publication by Rainstorm Press for release in mid 2013. The second book, Dark Curse, is scheduled to be released on August 12th 2014

Monday, December 8, 2014

The 131 PReview Review Interviews David Edward Wagner Aothor of Marvelous Things @DEWMedia @shannonihayes

The 131 Preview Review Welcomes 

Author David Edward Wagner



Raised in Marion, Ohio, songwriter/novelist David Edward Wagner splits his time between Oakland, California and Istanbul, Turkey.

NBC television used David's original musical work for use on their sitcom, The New Normal and his serialized story, Anchors No More, is featured content on SerialTeller.com throughout 2014. David has also appeared in the Italian Top Twenty with his original composition German Sparkle Party. David holds an MA in Philosophy from SFSU.

As a writer and musician, David has created a varied and evolving catalog of songs, novels, screenplays, and prose, all tinted with a shade of social consciousness, sometimes hidden, sometimes highlighted, with inventive humor and device.


<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/zuaPX1_XoiE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>






Wednesday, December 3, 2014

#WW The 131 Preview Review #Spotlights Kate Benson's The Commitment with #CoverReveal @shannonihayes @Katebensonauthr

The Commitment (The Promise Series #4) by Kate Benson


Release Date- Dec. 7th PARTY


The Commitment 
Copyright 2014 © Kate Benson

Sophie Ryan has not had an easy life.

In the past two years, she’s faced heartbreaking loss, gotten a rare second chance at unconditional love, revealed her darkest secrets and been forced to make unimaginable choices.

Dusting herself off time and time again, she’s always bounced back in the name of love.

After suffering yet another devastating blow, Sophie is faced with the choice of fight or flight.

With forces and emotions from her past still in play, will she find that some promises are made to be broken?

Or will she finally make the commitment it takes to find the forever she’s been searching for?




GoodReads     Facebook     Twitter    Amazon     

Monday, December 1, 2014

#MondayBlogs The 131 Preview Review Presents Marvelous Things @shannonihayes and @DEWagnermedia

The 131 Preview Review Presents 


A brooding and exciting science fiction novella concerning a man, a biosynthetic spaceship and a newly conscious operating system. Trouble ensues...
.
Dale Abbot wakes from Chrysalis hibernation thinking it is going to be just another long, lonely shift aboard the UFS Perseus. And then it happens. The power goes out, no air, no lights, his ship an empty shell floating in the void. As Dale scrambles for a way to survive in the cold darkness, he hears a voice, "Can you help me," it asks, "I think I'm lost." 

Dale finds himself in bound to a physical and psychological struggle with a newly emergent consciousness that has the potential to become something beyond comprehension.

Hmm.... Well I'm beyond intrigued and that cover is super creepy. Let's see where that hole goes shall we??

Monday, November 17, 2014

#MondayBlogs The #131PreviewReview presents Dark Curse book 2 of The Deamhan Chronicles from Isaiyan Morrison @isaiyanmorrison @shannonihayes

The 131 Preview Review Presents

The Deamhan world is in disarray. Freed from Limbo, Lucius, the once feared and Ancient Lugat, goes on a killing spree to wipe out any remaining traitors in the city of Minneapolis. Meanwhile The Brotherhood's return along with the growing population of vampires riles up the remaining Deamhan who choose to stay behind rather than abandon the city. 

The body count continues to pile up forcing both humans and Deamhan to pick a side. Either allow Lucius to free the Pure Ones, the first living Deamhan from Limbo, or take him out and cripple their already fragile presence in the city


          The description was more than enough to bring me back into author +Isaiyan Morrison's world. Having read Deamhan  just over a year ago, I have been anticipating this next book in the series.  You can read my review of that here

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I'm BAACCKK!! The Return of The 131 Preview Review @shannonihayes #131PreviewReview

THE 131 Preview Review Returns!!!

So It's been quite some time since y'all have heard a peep out of me. May if I reckon my dates are correct. A lot has gone on and a lot of changes have come my way since the release of my last book, Centuries Of Blood Becoming. Oh what things have changed...

Tuesday, June 10, 2014

#TeaserTuesday One Month Stand by Nina Ceves @ninaceves #131PreviewReview

The 131 Preview Review Presents

     Ever has put her troubled past behind her and has a thriving pet sitting business in beautiful Sonoma county, California. Born into the foster care system, and with a history of loss, she is sure that relationships are just not for her. Theo was raised on a farm in a family that rejected all modern ways of life, until he was exiled. Working as a comedian, writer, and part time clown, the last thing he expects is to find himself falling so fast for a woman as vulnerable, caring, and beautiful as Ever. Unable to deny the attraction between them, Ever suggests a one night stand. Theo, desperate to buy time, proposes an alternative: a one month stand. Despite her fears, Ever is so drawn to Theo, and she agrees. At the end of the month, will they go their separate ways as planned? Or will these independent, wounded people find the courage to hold on to what is right in front of them? 

Monday, May 19, 2014

#MondayBlogs The 131 Preview Review #Spotlight DAGGER: The Brothers of Element Series) Author Cora Blu @9olivia

A Spotlight from The 131 Preview Review

Title: Dagger: The Brothers of Element Series

Author: +cora blu 


Description: 

Drew keeps waking from dreams of a mysterious, sexy, blue stranger who makes her feel things she never imagined possible. When she learns her dream man really exists, he takes her to a world she has always longed to be a part of. 

Dagger has been watching her for years, knowing she will be the one to save not only him, but his entire kingdom. He must convince Drew of what Clear Coral has been telling him all along—that their love will feed the ocean and save the earth from devastation. 

As tsunamis and earthquakes ravage not only the ocean floors, but the land as well, Drew must learn to push past her fears and suspicions to embrace the marvels and challenges that wait for her under the ocean. 
But not everyone wants a human in their ocean. Where there is a hero, there is a villain.  
Death is the price of their failure. 

Excerpt:

Copyright 2011 Cora Blu

“DREW, WHAT THE hell was that?” Jim barked, his face a red, blotchy mask.

She eyed her boss’s wet suit, hanging limply from his waist like a deflated tire. His sleeves flipped inside out, slapping his legs every time he pointed that long finger at her.

She didn’t care. Her teeth were chattering and her patience bank was on empty. She snapped at him, “That was me saving Michelle a trip to the morgue.” The air pack slipped from her cold fingers, hitting the deck. The solid thwack was muffled under the thick, angry air between them. “What was I supposed to do, watch? It saved your ungrateful behind.”

“I’m still your boss, Drew.”

No joke.

“Then cover your ears ’cause I’m not done.” Gripping the warm deck’s boards, she climbed out of the boat, wet suit slung over her shoulder.

“You take that off again and you’re on suspension.”

Mother Nature gave her the tools—no one said how she had to use them, and it saved their lives—case closed.

“Here, catch.” He tossed her the thick rope.

She caught it before it hit her in the mouth, her slowly tensing back muscles twitched along her spine as she secured the loop around the post. Jim’s tan, angular face puckered. Why was he so edgy lately? If she didn’t love him, she’d clock him over the head. Something was up. Something more than Michelle being eight months pregnant.

Jim motioned for a towel off the pier’s deck. “You never—ever—take that pack off,” he warned.

“Got a faster way to get the suit off?” She hurled the towel, aiming for his head.

“That’s your only protection down there.”

“And I was your only protection,” she said.

“Drew, you take too many risks.”

“This risk saved your life, Jim. Be grateful I wore the front zip or I’d still be struggling to get it off.” Snatching open her duffle bag, she dug out a peach T-shirt and slipped it over her head. “It distracted Bandit long enough.” Tugging the T-shirt past the wet bikini, she kept her eyes on Jim. He was pissed, but alive, and that was what mattered.

Never leave your partner.

“Drew.” He set the cooler on the deck then dragged a hand down his face in frustration. She could see it forming, the grand lecture. “You were half-naked down there,” he told her. Peeling the seal suit down his thighs, it puddled around his feet.

“It saved your life,” she returned. “What’s the big deal anyway? We live on the beach. You’ve seen my bikini a million times.” She wiped off the face of her watch—seven thirty. He must not have gotten enough sleep last night. It had to be why he was freaking out.

“It’s not the same.” Worry lines creased his wide forehead above deep-set, squinted eyes. His signature pissed-off stare was aimed right at her.

“What?” She didn’t have another answer for that look. In truth, she did, but he was still her boss and this wasn’t the right time.

In one long, lurid sweep, his gaze undressed her. She wanted to crawl back inside the wet suit. “Stop looking at me like that.” She gripped her towel. “It’s, ewww, creepy.”

“That’s how Bandit watched you, Drew. A glass of vodka, flashing lights, and he was in the club trying to get your seven digits.”

“Jim, that’s disgusting,” she argued. “You’re one to talk. It’s no different than the little dolphin that clung to your side. Was she a science groupie?”

Dropping the towel, she grabbed her khakis. Shoving her feet through the leg holes too fast, she caught her toes and about toppled over. Gaining her balance, she knew he was right—knew taking off the wet suit would work, but he didn’t need to know that. Heck, she wished she hadn’t known it would work. A quick glance out over the Atlantic gave her a glimpse of the dolphins, and she knew they wouldn’t come in with Jim on the pier. She had to hurry.

About the Author:

 After working in the financial world for over twenty years, I found many unique situations and characters that filled my imagination.

I love romance.

So in my stories you will find my characters are interracial and multicultural, because I don’t live in a one race world. With that being said, my stories deal with situations most people can relate to. I enjoy fleshing out that story of how the couple ending up in each other’s world and revealing that moment when they realized life wouldn’t be the same without that person.

Throw in stranded in the Alps or waking in a strangers bed because someone found you slumped over in your car. Having a threat sent through email and your ex is the main suspect, yet she’s missing. Or having a seven foot tall blue man standing at your back door covered in tiger stripes telling you it’s time to come home and he lives in the ocean, now you’ve entered my world of storytelling.

Author Links:

Facebook     Website    Twitter

Buy Links:







The In Dreams... Series, The Roads Trilogy, is the accumulation of almost eight years of writing. Begun in 2006 after a D&D campaign
ended S.I.Hayes took the world and created the Unavoidable Road. It took five years as 
Shannon spent many months at a time in an undiagnosed Bi-Polar fog. 

In 2010, she finally found the help she needed and she has been writing feverishly ever since

The first book wast over 130,000 words, so she decided that it needed to be smaller if only tonot scare readers away form an unknown book that was so thick. 

Thus the first trilogy was born. 

In between she became the CoAuthor to Awakenings: The Wrath Saga, a Paranormal Drama likened to Big Brother Meets The Real World, of the Preternatural, Several blogs and her own website. S.I.Hayes.com.



Saturday, May 10, 2014

#SaturdayStunner The 131 Preview Review #Spotlight Fracture: The Secret Enemy Saga from Virginia McKevitt @shannonihayes @vmmckevitt

 A Spotlight from The 131 Preview Review

Title: Fracture: The Secret Enemy Saga

Author: +Virginia McKevitt 


Description: 

Strange things are happening in the little town of Blessing. The townsfolk are dreaming of angels. They're happy, content, after all this is Blessing. Seemingly random deaths begin to happen. A lonely old drunk dies in a camper fire. A young factory worker dies of a drug overdose and a young woman's parents are brutally murdered for no apparent reason. There is a reason. A hunger. The kind of hunger that cannot be quenched with simple food and water. A hunger that is not from our world and there is one who has been sent to stop it. An assassin sent by a king from a world so close a mere fracture separates the two. His mission is to get in and out before he or his prey are discovered, but fate has a different plan. Follow Tegrin, a king's most trusted Guardian, and Kristina, a strong-willed young woman whose revenge for her parents murders sends them on a collision course that will change their lives forever.

Excerpt:

A mild breeze from an open window carried a familiar scent across the room, “I knew he would send you.” she said, looking out of the window onto the moonlit yard.
Without a sound he was standing behind her. She could feel his breath on her back and shoulders, his powerful body so close that it warmed her skin.

“Why have you come here?” he whispered. “Who told you of this place?”

She turned around and leaned against him. “That old fool Gordain was full of wine and told Serina. Tegrin, this is a wonderful place! There is no king, no master. We can do whatever we want without being punished!”

“Natiana, there are laws here, too. Not all humans are as weak as this.” He looked into the kitchen.

Tegrin stared at the nude body slumped in the kitchen chair. “You used your body to take his life?” His voice was low and ominous.

For the first time Natiana felt she was in danger. She turned around, looking at the man whose life she had just taken. She looked over her shoulder at Tegrin.

“It did not mean anything, just a means to an end.”

This was the first time in his life that Tegrin thought he would lose control. He stared at the woman he thought he knew. They had been together for many years. While other Guardians took many concubines, he chose only Natiana.

Her deceit gave him the strength to kill her. He had feared he would not be able to, until this moment but she had played a game that had only one ending.

She leaned against him and whispered, “Will you kill your lover Tegrin?”

Even above the music Tegrin could hear the light scratch of her blade against its leather sheath. He lifted her face to his and kissed her hard on the lips. In the seconds before her blade left its sheath, Tegrin’s Dropon sliced through her spine. He held his lover and watched her life fade away.

About the Author:

 Virginia McKevitt was born in Long Beach, California, but lived most of her life in the suburbs of New Orleans, Louisiana. The daughter of William (Bill) and Mearl Heffker, she graduated from L. W. Higgins High School. She is married to her childhood sweetheart, Jeff McKevitt.

She has been many things in life; a wife, a mother, a salesperson, owned her landscaping business and raised horses, but her love of writing never wavered. Hurricane Katrina, a curse to many, changed her life. The business gone and family scattered, she moved to Alabama, then to the mountains of Georgia.

Life urged her on, so when she found the first chapters of a manuscript she had started while still in New Orleans, she sat down at the computer and never looked back. Her vivid imagination and love for fantasy has culminated into a story she hopes will captivate anyone who loves a good journey. Fracture The Secret Enemy Saga, started so many years ago was the beginning of the road. The Hunted is the second installment of the continuing journey, and Secrets is expected to be released sometime earl summer. 

Author Links:

Twitter      YouTube    GoodReads    Google+     Facebook     Stage32     SheWrites     Shelfari

Website

Buy Links:

Amazon    B&N


Friday, May 2, 2014

#FridayFiction The 131 Preview Review #Spotlight The Draglen Brothers Series: SHOWKEN From Author Solease M. Barner @SoleaseBarner

131 Preview Review Spotlight


Title: SHOWKEN: The Draglen Brothers Series

Author: +Solease Barner

Description: 

An erotic, paranormal love story with dragons. Suitable for mature adults only.

Marilyn Carrington has been hurt by everyone who has ever claimed to love her. Now, she only trusts herself and her .45 caliber pistol. When the sexiest man she has ever seen walks into the bar where she works, she stays clear of him, ignoring his advances, but when he takes the hint and leaves her alone, she finds herself missing him. Marilyn finds she doesn't care about the danger she senses around him; she wants to know the feeling of love again. Marilyn's only problem now is whether Showken is really ready for her.

Showken Draglen is known for being a playboy. Loving his freedom, he has never committed to a woman, and doesn't ever plan to. But when he sees Marilyn, he will do whatever it takes to have her. Unused to rejection, he becomes even more determined to win her. But deep down Showken knows that when she finds out what he truly is, she will run, leaving him with the only option he knows, using his power.

Excerpt:

“Showken, please, you’re torturing me with your mouth.”

“Really? Well, I can torture you with this mouth all over your body,” I say, pulling at her shorts. She gasps at how fast I get them off her. “Showken, please,” she says. I think she is awake, but no, she’s in a deep sleep. I smile, thinking of how to wake her up. Hmmm.

“What do you want, beautiful?” I whisper into her ear, softly kissing her neck. She moans, moving towards me. Whoa, I need to wake her up. I get up, and go get the last cupcake. When I come back, she’s sliding her hand into her shorts. Fuck, she’s starting without me. Moving quickly to the bed, I pull the covers all the way down and climb back in. I lay my hands on her lower belly, and she wakes up looking at me. I smile, looking at her hand in her shorts. She looks down, feeling embarrassed. I smile, pulling her hand out of her shorts. I start licking each finger. I never take my eyes off of her. She tastes delicious.

“Maybe we should go to sleep.”

“Sleep you will get tomorrow morning,” I say, reaching for my cupcake. “We had chocolate last time, but I also like strawberry. I think strawberry and Marilyn will be a good combination.”

“Ohhh!”

“Spread your legs, beautiful, I’m hungry,” I say, watching her reaction. She slowly opens her legs, and her arousal glistens. I turn the cupcake on my hand and slowly lower it to her sex, spreading the frosting on her and moving it up her belly, also. She moans, “Ohhhh!” I like the sound of that. I stuff the now frosting-free cupcake into my mouth, chewing slowly while holding her legs apart. She’s squirming now. I lean down, licking frosting off her hot body. She arches towards me, and I feel frosting all over my face. I chuckle, remembering she said she wanted space. No space, my lovely lady, I think to myself. I continue sucking, pulling at her folds covered in strawberry frosting. I can’t stop myself, I make sure every piece of frosting is off before I focus on her first release. “Showken, I’m dying, please,” Marilyn whines.

“You’re not going to die, sweetness,” I say, pushing her shirt over her head. She’s now totally bare for me. I squeeze her breasts, loving the feel of them. I dip back down to her sex and start on her clitoris. It’s not long before she’s pulling my hair, hard. Pushing my tongue into her sex, I’m rewarded with her orgasm filling my mouth. She screams very loud. “AHHHHHHHHHHH!!” I can’t wait, holding myself up with my hands beside her hips I lean down to kiss her. I didn’t think I could ever feel this good. I’m inside her and my movements are slow. I want to savor every minute of Marilyn.

MARILYN

I can’t believe that I have no control. I told myself that sex with Showken could not happen again, yet I feel so good right now with him inside me. After the talk with his mother, while Showken was on the phone, she explained how she had never intended to offend me, that she had never seen Showken so affected by a woman. He is such a caring, gentle, kind, and fine as hell man. I’m surprised he is not married. He’s working me over right now. Those soft lips are amazing. I can’t believe he caught me masturbating in my sleep. I guess he wants me, too. Being wakened up with strawberry cupcakes is fun. I can’t think any more, he is commanding my body. I open my eyes, loving how attentive he is to me. His lips are everywhere, kissing my breasts, lips, neck, shoulders, and even my hips. He wraps my legs around him, thrusting, taking turns going fast and slow. Mmmmm, the squeezing of my hips is very arousing to me. I love to feel his big hands enjoying me as I enjoy him.

“You feel amazing,” he whispers. He doesn’t stop moving inside me. He puts my legs on top of his shoulders, holding them in place. Oh my, I think I hear a growl.

“Show, show . . . OHHH, SHOOOOWKEN!” I scream. My climax is hard and loud. He finds his release right after me, moaning loudly.

“HMMMMMM!” The sound comes from deep inside him, and I feel my body tremble just hearing it. I love that sound. I did that. I made him growl, made him lose control. This man is so easy to fall for. We rest on my bed, still entwined with each other. He brushes my sweaty hair out of my face.

“You are so beautiful, don’t ever be with another man,” he says, looking me in the eye. Whoa, I’m not sure what he’s thinking about, but that is not a thought of mine.

“Showken, I’m not with another man. I’m with you, what are you talking about?” I rub my hand gently over his face. He catches my hand before I can remove it, and presses a kiss into my palm. His kiss is hot, very hot. My hand now feels very warm, but it’s a good warmth. I look into his eyes, and there is that deep green again.

“Precious, you are such a jewel, and I don’t share, at all. I don’t want you with any other manbut me. I won’t be sorry for anything I do,” he says, planting an open-mouthed kiss on me. The kiss is deep, and it lets me know he’s serious.

“I’m not that kind of girl, Showken, I don’t sleep around if I’m with a guy. Okay?” I say, trying to get as close as possible to him.

“Marilyn, I’m not some guy, I’m your man. I plan on being the last one,” he says, holding my chin up to make sure I don’t drop my face. I hope he’s not talking about marriage. This is moving too fast. I’m not ready for anything that serious. I really like Showken, but love him

enough to be his wife? I don’t think so. I’m moody, strange, and have tons of baggage from my past. I’m not going to discuss this.

“I see that your heart rate is picking up speed. I guess you understand I want you forever,” he says, searching my eyes to get my reaction.

“I’m just excited to be next to you, wrapped in your arms,” I say, resting my head on his shoulder. He rolls onto his back with me still in his arms, now I’m lying on top of him.

“Huh, okay, if you say so, but I’m serious. I will do it right, though,” he smiles. “Now, can I have more of you, I feel like a caged beast, needing to fly,” he says, chuckling. What a strange thing to say, especially when it sounds like what he said in my dream. I feel his erection, and it’s hard. Oh, I guess talking is over.

We continue our sex and small talk throughout the night. It is early morning before we decide sleep would be good. When morning comes, I cook breakfast and he leaves, I think going home. Showken is getting real serious, and I’m sure he is talking about marriage. He said numerous times during sex that he wanted me forever. I’m not sure if it was just in the moment, or if he meant it. This is my last day off work. I go back tomorrow, so I need to get as much rest as possible. I need to go back to bed. Showken didn’t give me any sleep last night, and I slept almost an hour this morning. He’s like the energizer bunny; he never stops. I’m glad he gave me my bath this morning, I know my ass would have hit the floor if it wasn’t for the care he showed me. I pick up my cell heading back to bed, noticing that Jazz called four times and there are six text messages, I’m sure all from her. I’ll call her later; I need sleep. I climb into my bed, smelling Showken everywhere. He’s in my sheets, pillows, Bruiser even smells like him. Showken is taking over my life. I can’t let this happen, I need to get back in control. The sex is good, but marriage . . . commitment is not something I want right now.

***

When I get up five hours later, my attention is called to Bruiser needing to go outside. He’s nudging me, and barking for me to get up.

“Ok, Bruiser. Mommy is tired and needs sleep, but I’m getting up,” I say to him. As I’m climbing out of bed he heads for the door. I laugh at how wonderful he is to me. Bruiser is my commitment, and he only wants to be fed, patted and walked. Showken wants way more than I can give. I slip on a pair of jeans, put on my bra and tank top, and pick up my keys to take Bruiser for a walk. My cell phone rings as soon as I’m out the door. I smile, seeing Jazz’s name come up.

“Hello, pesty,” I say laughing.

“Oh no, don’t pesty me,” she says, sounding a little annoyed. “You know I want to know the details of his momma, plus I’m assuming he stayed the night since my bestie could only now answer my calls or texts. So spill.”

“Well, his mother insulted me at first.”

“That bitch! Keep going, I hope you handed her ass to her on a platter.”

“Oh, I made it clear that she was not to speak to me the way she did. Then I was going to leave, but she apologized and basically begged me to stay for dinner. Speaking of dinner, he took me to the most magical restaurant ever. I mean, it seems normal on the outside, but Jazz, it’s like being outside in the world’s best garden,” I say, remembering the beauty of this place.

“Really, what’s the name? I’ve never heard of a place like this.”

“I’m not sure, but we have to go, even Bruiser was allowed to go, granted Showken owns the place and it was just us inside, but that’s still awesome. I could bring my other bestie, Bruiser was able to run free.”

“Okay, great, but I want to know more about the momma bitch. Do you think she likes you?”

“At first I thought she hated me, but then Showken had a phone call, leaving me at the table with her. She starts telling me how much she loves her children, and how it was shocking to see Showken fall so deep, this fast. Then she said that she welcomed me into the family. Freaked me out!”

“Hot shit balls! So you’re in there, girl! Don’t forget me. I want to live good, too.”

“First off- wait, hold on a second,” I say, trying to get Bruiser’s leash under control. He loves the outdoors. “Ok, I’m back. Now I could never forget you, but I’m not going anywhere.”

“Mari, this a good guy, who’s loaded. Don’t start any shit about not being ready. There’s no ‘I’ in team. You getting with this guy is helpful for me.”

“Jasmine Halon, I’m not going to be with someone for the team. Besides, I really don’t know him and neither do you, so remember whose team you’re on, and that’s mine. Now, how’s Rachel?”

“Fine. Well, he obviously stayed the night, so spill. Is it still good?”

I smile, remembering my night with Showken. “It was awesome. Hey, I’ll call you later- I’m back inside now and I need to eat some food. Plus, Bruiser is hungry, too.”

“Okay, call me later. Rachel and I might drop by.”

“Okay, bring some beer. All of mine is gone, and I’m not getting dressed today,” I say, hanging up the phone.

I laugh, knowing Jazz is itching to know more details of Showken’s and my night together. I’m not sure how to explain the cupcake thing, or if I even want to. I don’t think I will ever be able to eat cupcakes again without thinking of Showken and his creative ways to eat. I look at the clock on the wall, noticing it’s just after 2:00pm. I have the entire day to myself. What is a girl to do?




Author Links:


Author Website   The Draglen Brothers Series  Secrets Of The Ghosts Trilogy 
Twitter

Buy Links: 



Thursday, April 24, 2014

#ThrowbackThursday The 131 Preview Review #Spotlights Going Thru Hell from Author T.J.Loveless @tjloveless3 @shannonihayes

 A Spotlight from The 131 Preview Review

Title: Going Thru Hell
Author: T.J. Loveless

Description: 

The journey through hell begins with one step.

KYLIE RIPPONS is a SpongeBob pajama bottom wearing, Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 driving, USDA certified klutz, coffee-addicted mortal, seeking a normal life despite the constant harassment of gods and the ability to braid time.

Kylie sees actions and consequences as bright, shining timelines in her head. Born with the power to gather the strings and braid them into a new chain of events, she is the weapon of choice for many pantheons in their never ending wars. But using the ability requires fuel, and for a mortal, it means a piece of her soul.

Excerpt:

I wanted to bang my head on the desk, but the boss would charge for damages.

Glancing around the tiny cubicle, I tried to find anything heavy to throw at the gabby and arrogant immortal. He'd only laugh at any pathetic attempt to shut him up with pencil holders and files. The PC tower might work. I shook my head, the paycheck didn’t need a hit.

The gray padded walls and built in desk didn’t allow for much, and I regretted not keeping at least a picture frame or two. The edges might cause him to give a funny yelp. He might not like it, but I’d be entertained.

To make matters worse, the immortal in question couldn't be seen by anyone else.  By staying in the fourth dimension, beyond mortal senses, Amun pestered me while normal humans remained ignorant of the truth.

I’d give almost anything to be normal.

I pulled my purse from under the desk, rummaging for objects to use as missiles. I gave up. Co-workers would have great stories of me throwing various objects at thin air. Last Christmas party notwithstanding, I didn't need more rumors circulating.

“Go. Away.” I narrowed my eyes. Tall, muscular and handsome, Amun was built like other male immortals I'd had the displeasure of meeting. The only difference seen in the bronze skin, beautiful mahogany colored eyes, and straight black hair. He always wore a stupid St. Louis Rams t-shirt, both wrists encircled by badly inked ram tats. Perfect picture of an idiot.

“Why should I endeavor to please you?” His voice silky smooth, making promises I knew he would never keep.

“Did it ever occur to your ego-filled, arrogant mind to be nice?”

“No. I am a god. You should do as you are bid.”

“You lose. Get out. No deal.”

I pulled up the latest Excel spreadsheet, inserted ear buds, and cranked the MP3 player to drown his ranting. A deep breath, and I concentrated on the computer. Four accounts to reconcile today, I didn't need the constant distractions of immortals. Despite the job’s monotony, I needed to pay bills. Eat, buy chocolate and a daily triple shot mocha latte, essentials to my sanity.

Amun wasn’t the only one pestering me, various immortals visited through the day. All wanted the same thing they’ve demanded since puberty hit fifteen years ago. To use the rare, inherited genetic mutation giving an ability no human, or immortal, should possess under any circumstance.

Anger bubbled below my skin, the need to lash out bringing several bright threads of various timelines to the forefront of the inner boob tube. Instinct pushed hard, to rid them with a floor show. Logic reminded me of the cost. I swallowed and concentrated. Far greater stakes sat on the table.




About the Author:

Born in Anchorage, I've lived ... well ... everywhere. From the Arctic Circle to a block from the beaches in Florida. I speak fluent Arkansas Hillbilly, make a mean gumbo, can sew when necessary and am a whiz at packing. 
Life's unexpected twists and turns have led me down paths from shoveling water to build roads, correctional officer at a men's maximum security unit, to helping do the research and co-authoring the scientific paper regarding dyslexia and genetic inheritance. I've met a lot of wonderful people along the way, and a few I'd prefer to forget. But always grateful for what I learned.
I'm also a copy/content editor, and found I love helping a story idea turn into a book, ready to be distributed to those that need the story. I enjoy helping others in their journey, even as I continue on mine. So many things to learn!
You'll generally find a Muse snuggled to my hip, the other one laying across my shoulders and Editor Kitty staring at the screen, waiting for the red ink to make an appearance. Once it does, he lays across the keyboard purring.
The family brags about the latest compromising position I've been found in, trying to figure out how to truly describe "legs all akimbo" or if falling on the couch could truly land a body in a certain position. They ignore my yelling at characters on the computer screen, and are forgiving when I accidentally write past the time for them to eat. It's one way of teaching the teenager to cook ...

Author Links: 

Buy Links:

Amazon 

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

#TeaserTuesday The 131 Preview Review #Spotlight Divine From Author Alexandra Anthony @AlexAnthony80

A Spotlight from The 131 Preview Review

Title: Divine: A collection of Erotic Short Stories

Author +Alexandra Anthony  





Description: 

Divine is an exciting collection of six erotic short stories of varying spice and heat, designed to titillate and tantalize you.

In "The Game", follow along with a couple engaged in an erotic race. The winner takes all, but what will the punishment be for the loser? 

In "Red", Eve Long meets the mysterious vineyard owner Malcolm Goldman. She plans on seducing him, but is his bite worse than his bark?

In "Death Comes Knocking", Kate is forced to choose life or death when she falls in love with an angel.

In "Ruined", Lance finds that his limits can and will be tested, and fulfillment isn't always sweet.

In "I'm Coming Home", Maggie loses the love of her life...but is reunited with him after two years. Will their love recover after Matthew's captivity in Afghanistan?

In "The Alley", Samantha and Ryan can't wait to make it home after a drunken night on the town. It's hot, sexy and gritty fun for our couple.

About the Author:



Alexandra Anthony is an award-winning independent author of two romantic, erotic book series: The Vampire Destiny Series and The Dark Hart Chronicles. Both series feature sexy vampires to die for, steamy scenes and twists and turns in her character's many adventures.  She recently branched out into erotica with her latest release, Divine: A Collection of Erotic Short Stories

She was most recently featured in USA Today in an article by Joyce Lamb titled, "It's time to put some Paranormal Activity into your Reading" and was listed under Self-Published/Indie Authors for her most recent release, 'Ascend (The Vampire Destiny Series Book 4)'. Her book, Tempted: The Dark Hart Chronicles Book 1 won the 2013 Orangeberry Hall of Fame Award for Best Erotica.

Ms. Anthony is from the Midwest (Ohio to be precise) and was bitten by the lure of the vampire at an early age. She chose to take up writing and put her own twist on vampires...making them day-walkers that could easily blend in among their human counterparts. She also enjoys weaving Old Norse and Greek Mythology into her stories, adding a little realism to escapism.

She has three new books planned for 2014. A stand-alone erotic romance, Covet the Darkness, Rapture (The Dark Hart Chronicles Book 2) and Redemption (The Vampire Destiny Series Book 5). 

Alexandra Anthony’s books are for adults only. They contain sexy vampires, graphic language, romantic/erotic content, light BDSM and situations that aren't for the faint of heart. 

Author Links:





Buy Links:





Excerpt: From "Red"



Eve gathered her belongings and headed to the bathroom in the bar. Locking the door behind her, she unbuttoned her blouse and folded it neatly. She unzipped her black narrow skirt and slipped it down over her hips. She was thankful she was wearing one of her nicest bra and panty sets from La Perla. Sexy and sheer, the black lace accentuated her full breasts and curves. She left on her thigh high stockings and tugged on her trench coat, tying the belt around her waist.


She glanced at herself in the mirror, inspecting her hair and makeup with a critical eye. Her lipstick was still neatly applied and her blue eyes were lined lightly with black kohl. Giving her head a quick shake, it tumbled around her shoulders in thick blond waves.

She was ready.

Tucking her clothes in her bag, she unlocked the door and headed back into the lobby. Her heels clicked over the marble floor and when heads turned her way at the sound, she flushed. Even though she was completely covered, she felt totally naked under her trench coat.

She jabbed the up button on the elevator and rubbed her lips together as she waited for the doors to open. If Malcolm Goldman wanted a show, he was going to get one.

The doors parted and she stepped inside. She reached over and pressed the large two and watched the doors close and felt the subtle jolt as the car began its ascent to the second floor.

The elevator chimed and slid to a stop. She strode into the hallway and headed down the hallway to Suite 208. With each step, her reservations fell away. Never in a million years did she think she’d even consider fucking a potential client. Yet here she was, heading down the long hallway, ready to seduce the sexy man inside.

Eve passed suite 206 when she heard a door click open. To her amazement, Malcolm Goldman stood in the open doorway ahead of her. He’d unbuttoned his dress shirt at the collar, leaving more of his neck exposed. He was taller than she’d thought as he slouched against the frame, staring at her intently. He grinned smugly as he stared down at her.

Determination surged through her. He thought he would be the one to seduce her. Oh no. She would have her way with him.

Many times, if she was lucky.

She didn’t say a word when she brushed by him and walked into his room, placing her bag on the chair. She walked to the bed and lowered herself to the stark white duvet and rested her weight on her hands behind her.

“So Mr. Goldman, is this casual enough for you?”

He moved to stand in front of her. At least six-foot-four, he crossed his arms and casually leaned against the chair.

“You still have on too many clothes.”

His voice was slightly accented and a deep baritone. His mouth curled up at the corners and he flicked open the buttons on each of his shirtsleeves.

She cocked an eyebrow and tipped her head back. “Oh?”

His fingers traveled over each button on his dress shirt. Each one opened and revealed more and more of his olive skin. She felt her breath hitch, but she remained poker-faced and as cool as a cucumber.

“I thought we had business to discuss, Mr. Goldman,” Eve said softly. Her eyes continued to watch his every move as he shrugged out of his shirt and draped it over the back of the chair. He resumed his earlier pose with his arms crossed under his lean, muscular chest.

“I’d like to get to know you. Intimately, Genevieve.” Malcolm murmured. He chuckled and unbuckled his belt. “I think it’s better to really know a person before you do business, don’t you?”

Boldly, she stood and sidled up to him. The use of her full name infuriated her, but she liked the way it rolled off his tongue and she wisely chose to let it go. There were other ways to make him pay.

She met his gaze through his smoky glasses and placed one finger on the side of his cheek. She dragged her fingernail down over his jaw and neck, stepping in closer. “If we do this, we do it my way. Got it?”

Wordlessly, he nodded and stood. “I’m at your disposal. What shall you do with me?”

A rush of power gave her an adrenaline boost. She grinned naughtily and pointed to the bed. “Strip and sit up against the pillows. But do it slowly. I want to watch.”

His brow furrowed and his lips parted. However, he said nothing and stepped around her until he was at the side of the bed. Malcolm removed his belt from his trousers and

flicked open the button. He leisurely lowered his zipper and with a quick push, let his pants fall around his feet.

Malcolm Goldman went commando.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

#TeaserTuesday The 131 Preview Review #Spotlight I Miss My Daddy with Author Dreama Collins

 A Spotlight from The 131 Preview Review

Title: I Miss My Daddy

Author: +Dreama Collins 


Description: 

"First I want to thank God above for putting the desire in my heart to write this book. And for giving me the wisdom to know what to say. Special thanks to my dad who’s last words To me were “Stay the way you are, and keep helping people”. Thanks to everyone who encouraged me to write this book. ,and to all those who courageously and generously shared their stories, thank you. Thank you, the reader for picking up this book. It’s my hope that you’ll share it with others so that one by one we can help anyone who’s gone through or will go through the pain of losing a dad to know that they are not alone. You are not alone. And that joy will return again some day."

Excerpt:

"On the day he passed away I was on my computer. I had dial up and usually I leave messenger on in case someone needs to reach me but for some reason on this particular day I didn't. And I didn't check my email that whole day which is really odd cause usually I check it like every 15 minutes. When I finally did log on around 9 that evening I

had a message from my mom that said "Urgent". So I called her and she said to me to find my husband, to go get him. She wasn't going to tell me what she had to say without him there so I knew it was serious.

Now my grandmother was nearing 84 or something years old and had been fighting diabetes for many years and was in the hospital so I thought maybe this was about her. And I hate to say this, but I hoped it was because the only other person it could be about was my daddy.

So I got my husband and he sat beside me and she told him first and then he said "I'll let you tell her" and he handed me the phone. At the time of my writing this book it's been 4 years and I can see and remember it like it just happened. I look forward to the day when that memory is fuzzy, if that day ever comes.

I took the phone and she said to me

"It's your father, he passed away today."

And all of a sudden I was thrown into this surreal existence that was like a bad dream.

I had dreamt before many times about my dad passing away. In fact just a month before I dreamed that he had died. But at that moment when I heard her say those words everything stopped. Life did not slow down it STOPPED. I swear I felt like the air quite moving, like time stood still.

I was praying this was a joke, a cruel one albeit but still a joke. Because 2 weeks before that I spoke with my dad and he said "You almost lost your dad today." And I asked how. He explained how he was working at the church and a board filled with nails came down and hit him and knocked him to his knees. The whole board was lined with nails except for the spot that hit him in the head. He always felt like he had somebody looking after

him. I told him to please be careful and have it looked at. He didn't.

Anyway, so I'm thrown into this surreal existence all of a sudden where my dad was no longer part of the world, no longer part of my life. I could never see him again and I would never be able to talk to him again. I would never get another email, letter, or birthday card, or valentine card or phone call, or visit. He had just sent me an email the day before talking about coming to see me. And it wouldn't happen, no more holidays, no nothing. No more hugging his neck, no more silly little made up songs, no more singing what I call the "1814 song", no more watching him make a train whistle with his hands. It still brings me to tears to think about him and talk about him."

About the Author:

 I am not a professional therapist nor do I hold any degrees of any type that makes me an authority on grieving. Simply, I'm a woman living in Virginia who's lost her dad, uncles, grandparents, homes, relationships and gone through several “fires” in my life. I've spent the last few years speaking to others who have and are going through the same things. We all seem to share a common thread; the pain doesn't go away, not entirely. So I decided to sit down and write a book about and to those who have lost their fathers since losing my dad was the inspiration for this book. I believe this book will also be helpful to those who have been told their going to lose their dads as well as many situations that cause us to grieve. Maybe it can help prepare you for the road ahead, although how do you prepare for that? But in some small way, maybe this little book can help. Keep it by your night stand or in your desk at work. Give it to a grieving friend or relative. My biggest message here is that you are not alone and even though it may not feel like it right now; you really will laugh again and enjoy life as you did before. The difference is that you'll soak it all in like never before and you'll grow as a person. 

When I lost my dad I physically couldn't breath and I at times didn't even want to live. But here I am sharing my story and the stories of others with you in the hopes that you gain a better understanding of what you're going through or may have to go through. Every day brings with it another day that you have gotten through this. And like we always say in our Yahoo group... We don't believe in getting over it. But we do believe in getting on with it, and even then at your own pace.

Author Links:

H.U.G.S      Facebook

Buy Links:




Tuesday, April 1, 2014

#TeaserTuesday The 131 Preview Review #Spotlight Bristol Boys Stomp From Doreen McGettian @doreenb8

 A Spotlight from The 131 Preview Review

Title: Bristol Boyz Stomp




















Description: 

‘ROAD RAGE’ is what all the news shows and newspaper’s called it. To me, that sounded like a disease, an affliction that can make you kill.  A sorry excuse to take the claw end of a hammer and pound it repeatedly into the skull of another human being.

In April of 1999, my younger brother, David, passed away.  Doesn't passed away sound so gentle, even normal?  David’s death was neither, it was brutal murder.

This book is the true story of the random murder of my brother.  The youngest of five.  I am the oldest.  We were the book ends.

You will meet and fall in love with David, the victim.  He was a handsome soft spoken gentle giant with a great musical talent.  He was also a husband and Daddy.

The reader will agonize with the family as they spend seventy-two-hours in the intensive care unit watching Dave slip away.  They prayed for miracles and discussed organ donation while still trying to figure out exactly what happened that night.

The family will take you along on their frustrating journey navigating the justice system and learning to deal with the media.

You will become infuriated with the judge, the evil skirt and sneaker wearing district attorney who was only interested in winning an election, the defense lawyers and the murderer’s families lack of empathy or compassion.

The reader will agonize with the author as she struggles to share her story of grief, depression and defeat.

A painfully gripping, honest detail that will leave readers inspired to hug everyone they love and sadly; forever looking in the rear view mirror.


About the Author:

 When Doreen’s brother was murdered, she was shattered.  She dove head first into working; writing and learning.  Anything to keep herself  from feeling or dealing with her loss and the complete unraveling of her family.   Doreen  was fortunate enough to come in contact with some very special people at the Network of Victim Assistance.  She joined a Homicide Survivors Group and then became active in the state of Pennsylvania’s largest and most comprehensive victim service organization, NOVA,  as an advocate, board member and speaker.  She has become a voice for those affected by violence and bullying.  She has also become a champion for the elderly; who sometimes have trouble admitting they have been victimized.

Doreen has written for several Philadelphia area newspapers. She is now a respected freelance journalist, content writer, ghostwriter and author. She works part-time as a caregiver for the elderly, most of whom are hospice patients.

She is an active member of and also sits on the board of The Press Club, is a member of the Military Writers Society of America, the Nonfiction Authors Association, LB Creative Writers, Hot Pens, BC Speaker’s Bureau, and a workshop facilitator. She also owns a marketing company.

The author lives in Delaware County, Pa. just south of Philadelphia with her husband John and two little dogs.

Doreen and John have 5 grown children (2 more in heaven) and 13 grand children (their own little cult).

Their lives are not boring.

Author Links:

Website      Facebook     Twitter

Buy Links:



Excerpt:


        When it was finally my turn to speak, I walked to the front of the courtroom and faced the judge. I got through my letter. Tears stung in my eyes, but I fought them off. I did the best I could. When I finished, Mel Kardos asked permission to question me. That had not happened to anybody else all day. I looked at Matt, and he shook his head yes. The judge granted the permission. I was shaking. He asked me where I worked. I was stunned. What was his point? I told the judge I was scared to say where I worked. I did not want any of them to know where I worked. I knew Kardos wanted me to say I worked at The Bucks County Courier Times. He was going to say I had something to do with the press coverage of this case. I was lucky if I got a pen in that building, let alone the power to drive the news. I turned to Kardos, smiled sarcastically, and answered I worked for a company called GPN. He was clearly annoyed that he did not get the answer he wanted. It was the truth. GPN was Greater Philadelphia Newspapers. I did not lie. That’s what was on my paychecks.
           I nervously looked over at Laurie Mason; she was the writer for The Bucks County Courier Times who covered all trials and court related events. She even had her own office in the basement of the courthouse. She smiled. I ran up to her as soon as it was over and asked her if I’d lied. She laughed and said no. She said it was amazing that I came up with the perfect truthful answer. I found out later from the prosecutor and the reporters that they had never, ever, heard someone questioned after giving an impact statement. It was another excuse to hate Mel Kardos. What an arrogant man he was.


Follow by Email

Labels

@AirickaPhoenix @ariana_erotica @ashleyfontainne @CCGenovese @JacintaMaree6 @jaycuttsbooks @JCReedAuthor @kcastronaro @MarianneSpitzer @shannonihayes @shannonihayes #GhostStories @VickiBatman & Lillian Hansen #131PreviewReview #131PreviewReview #WROTM #Author #CBT #Dark #ContemporaryRomance #eroticfun #Excerpt #firsttimes #IndyThursday #Kinkyfetish #MondayBlogs #MondayBlogs #131PreviewReview Welcomes Death By Haggis #Author Jay Cutts @shannonihayes @jaycuttsbooks #MondayBlogs 131 Preview Review Interviews Bliss #Author @brandonhalsey @shannonihayes #MondayBlogs The 131 PReview Review Presents #MondayBlogsThe #131PreviewReview #MondayBlogsThe #131PreviewReview Presents #WROTM VERLIEGE From Author Micheal Rivers @micheal_rivers @shannonihayes #Romance #Sexual Content #Spotlight #Spotlight #131PreviewReview Mocha #TeaserTuesday #TeaserTuesday The 131 Preview Review Presents Deceptive Outlaw @DawnWhite9 @shannonihayes #TwistedFairyTales #WriterWednesday #WriterWednesday The 131 Preview Review Presents His lullaby Baby @AirickaPhoenix @shannonihayes #Romance #WROTM 131 Preview Review Interviews 24/7 A Leopard's Path action AFTERSHOCK Airicka Phoenix Alexandra Anthony Amongst The Clouds: James And Syvok Adventure 4 and Murder From Author MaryAnn Kempher @shannonihayes @MaryAnnKempher Author Author Interviews Autumn Harvest: Maiden Autumn Harvest: Tales Battleborn BDSM bio-synthetic blood BLOOD TIES Book 1) Books Brandon Halsey Breathless (Death Viewers By Ashley Fontaine Candy Anne Little Carolyn Arnold CBT Cherokee Children's Books Chris C. Genovese Christine M. Butler Cinsearae S. comedy Contemporary Romance Cora Blu Cover Reveal D/s Dark Corridors Dark Primal Paranormal Romance David Edward Wagner Deamhan Death By Haggis Desecrated Beauty DHC DHC Series DnD Doreen McGettian DRAGONSHIFTER Dreams and screams bookaholics Dwarves Elves Eri Nelson erotic fantasy Erotic fun Erotic situations Erotica family Fantasy FBI feminism Fiction gender-identity Ghost stories Gothic Harley-Davidson interviews intrigue Isaiyan Morrison Istanbul Jay Cutts Killing Jenna Crane Kim Cresswell @kimcresswell Kinky Carnival Games Kristopher Lioudis L.J. Charles Leprechauns Lesbian Lia Davis Literary Fiction Love Maybe Mandy Mild Sexual content Moonlight Murder/Mystery Musick Nina Ceves NJ novella paranormal investigator Paranormal Romance Pegging philosophy Presents psychic Publishing Queer r #Promo racism Retribution reviews Roger Corman Romance Books S.I.Hayes satire Schiffer Publishing Sci-Fi science fiction secret agencies Serill Killers sexism Sexual Content shapshifters Short Story Compilation Smokey Mountain Ghost Trackers Solease M. Barner Soulless; The Immortal Gene Spotlight Stephen King Stripper Vampire strong female characters strong language Strong Sexual Content suspense T.J.Loveless tear jerkers Author Interviews Temporarily Employed The 13 Preview Review Presents The 131 Preview Review Presents The Devil’s Beauty The Lover's Surrende The ManicScribbler The Muppet Show The Walking Dead thriller Tof Eklund Transcending Darkness Trilogy Typos UK United Kingdom Valerie Lioudis Vampires Vicki Batman Vincent Price Virginia McKevitt Wendy Nystrom werewolves Will Van Stone Jr William Sawyers WIP Women's Lit Women's literary Fiction WROTM Zombie Strippers Zombies


The In Dreams... Series, The Roads Trilogy, is the accumulation of almost eight years of writing. Begun in 2006 after a D&D campaign

ended S.I.Hayes took the world and created the Unavoidable Road. It took five years as

Shannon spent many months at a time in an undiagnosed Bi-Polar fog.


In 2010, she finally found the help she needed and she has been writing feverishly ever since


The first book wast over 130,000 words, so she decided that it needed to be smaller if only tonot scare readers away form an unknown book that was so thick.


Thus the first trilogy was born.


In between she became the CoAuthor to Awakenings: The Wrath Saga, a Paranormal Drama likened to Big Brother Meets The Real World, of the Preternatural, Several blogs and her own website. S.I.Hayes.com.